What Must It Have Been Like?

“But Jesus turned, and as He saw them following Him, He said to them, What are you looking for? [And what is it you wish?] And they answered Him, Rabbi–which translated is Teacher–where are You staying? He said to them, Come and see. So they went and saw where He was staying, and they remained with Him that day. It was then about the tenth hour (about four o’clock in the afternoon).”

John 1:38-39

~

This morning I woke up literally having a conversation with God. Have you ever done that? I heard myself talking. I shared my first words of the day with the LORD. Pretty cool, right? As you can imagine, when I became fully aware of my own voice, I began smiling. I thanked God immediately. It was in the very next moments that I decided to spend my morning hours with Him and Him only. No interruptions.

The first thing I decided to do was to take a walk with Him. The second thing I decided to do was to dedicate myself to being quiet so that I could hear from Him. Next, I prayed and asked God what  He wanted me to focus my morning devotional on. Thereafter, I decided to journal about my experience.  In between those moments, I praised.

It was during my devotional time that my attention was drawn to John 1:38-39. These two scriptures contained a beautiful lesson about Jesus and His first disciples. Hidden in plain sight were treasures on everything from awareness to communication to what really matters in life. Although I had read these scriptures countless times, this time, I saw something more. I saw Andrew and the other disciple, and I noticed their active response to Jesus.

I began to wonder what it must have been like for them. After all, this Jesus whom John had recognized as the Lamb of God, was going to take away the sins of the world (1:29). What must have been going through their minds? Could they even contain their excitement?

Before either of them realized, Jesus turned and spoke to them. He asked them a simple question. Although they answered Him with a question, He provided them with an invitation, and I venture to say many, many answers. Surely, many answers had to come because scripture reveals that they remained with Him that day.

After I read and reread that they had remained with Jesus that day, I kept meditating on it. I again wondered what it must have been like for them. But God is so faithful in how He speaks to us and in how He gives answers to our every question. He gave me the answer I was looking for.  He, through His Spirit, quieted me with His very evident truths. You see, I already knew what it must have been like for the two disciples. How? I, like Andrew and the other disciple, had been made aware of who Jesus was.  I also, like the two disciples, had chosen to follow Jesus. And I too, like the disciples, elected to remain with Him.

Can you imagine what your life would be like if you chose to remain with Jesus today and every day for the rest of your life?

Care to Connect?

