The End from the Beginning

“Think about this. Wrap your minds around it.
This is serious business, rebels. Take it to heart.
Remember your history,
your long and rich history.
I am God, the only God you’ve had or ever will have—
incomparable, irreplaceable—
From the very beginning
telling you what the ending will be,
All along letting you in
on what is going to happen,
Assuring you, ‘I’m in this for the long haul,
I’ll do exactly what I set out to do,’
Calling that eagle, Cyrus, out of the east,
from a far country the man I chose to help me.
I’ve said it, and I’ll most certainly do it.
I’ve planned it, so it’s as good as done.”

Isaiah 46:8-11 (The Message)

Phone Tree Challenge: Dissect these scriptures and comment on what you think they mean. Please cite the bible study resources/tools you used to come to your answer. The first two people to correctly respond will receive a very special blessing.

This special challenge opportunity will end Saturday, August 7, 2010 at 11:59 PM (EST).

8 thoughts on “The End from the Beginning

  1. I absolutely love this passage! I know there is deep historical meaning in what is being said, but for me, it is once again God validating His power and authority in my life.

    I am such a rebel! As Paul says, so often I do what I ought not to do. Yet God in His infinite mercy was so faithful to remind HIS children the Israelites to take their sinful acts to heart! He reminds them, and me, that it IS serious business. And how “Daddy” like of Him to bring in their/my history. He isn’t reminding them of their mistakes, but their triumphs instead…thus the word “rich.”

    And when I think of those words, “I am God, the only God you’ve had or ever will have—incomparable, irreplaceable—,” it gives me chills to think of the power that rests in His hands.

    “From the beginning, telling you what the ending will be,” …HELLO! Jeremiah 1:5- He knew us before we were formed and knew His plans for us!

    I also love the Message’s way of putting, “I am in it for the long haul.” The question that I have to continue to ask myself, is, “Am I?” Convicting words at times.

    But for me, this is what has made this passage so encouraging for me, “I’ve said it, and I’ll most certainly do it. I’ve planned it, so it’s as good as done.” It not only reminds me of God’s faithfulness- to the Israelites, as well as this child of God. And… the coolest thing… When God calls me to something and says it is going to happen; it doesn’t matter what obstacles, trials, defeats, temptations come in my way; because GOD is going to pull me through… it is HIS promise! WOW!!! So powerful!

    Thanks for this wonderful reminder this VERY day of God’s amazing love and promises!

    • Thank you for your inspiring message. The way you paralleled the text with self should encourage us all to see the “rebel” inside. At the same time, your response allows us to focus our attention on the power and will of God, in addition to the hope that can be found in Him and Him alone.

  2. To start with God is reminding man that he is the only living God. He set the world in motion, and he told from the beginning what would happen at the end. He has foretold what is still to come. He will carry out his plan to the very letter as he sees fit.

    Verse 11 speaks to a bird of prey that will carry out his purpose. This is a reference to Cyrus, the king of Medo-Persia. If you look back at chapter 45, God says that he will use him for his purpose. History shows that Cyrus issued a decree allowing the Israelites to be released from Babylonian captivity and return to Jerusalem and rebuild the temple.

    The application for us is this: we are to remember that there is only one living God. We are to follow after him and him alone. He sets events in motion and he will carry out His purpses.

    Resources I used in study: NIV Study Bible notes; NIV Life Application Bible notes; blueletterbible.org commentaries from the following: David Guzik, Chuck Smith, and J. Vernon McGee.

    • Great digging! You have done a wonderful job with providing a clear, definitive picture of who God is. You have also presented good information on what God has accomplished and what He will continue to accomplish.

  3. Isaiah was addressing the false idols and gods that had made their way into the lives of the children of Israel. He admonishes them to “stand up, be men” put away their idolatries. Remember what God has done in the past and there is no other God. He knows the beginning from the end, those things that are not done yet. He gives “authenticity ” to who He is. His word will stand and His will will be accomplished. He will be swift and fierce with victory over His enemies.

    I used the Blue Letter Bible website, commentaries by John Wesley and Chuck Missler

    • You did a wonderful job highlighting points about chapter 46. I appreciate your quick synopsis on the background of what’s really going on in these verses.
      Often, students of the Bible fail to go beyond a listed scripture or scriptures, and in so doing, they do not fully grasp the full, complete, or accurate meaning of God’s Word.

  4. “God is saying to the Israelites, no matter how much they rebelled, He loves them and has never left them. ( looking back over history)

    With the eagle, Cyrus, God is just simply saying that whatever He purposed He will do (with whatever thing or person He chooses to use).

    On another note, this really spoke to me during my devotional time today. It made me remember not to give up, and to believe that God will fulfill His purpose in my life. ”

    Andrea

    • Thanks Andrea. Excellent work. Your summary is on point, and your personal testimony is inspiring. In your response, we can all affirm that God is always present and purposed in His works. He will do what He has determined to do, no matter the person or circumstance.

Care to Connect?

