JONAH: Navigating a Life Interrupted (The Introduction)

Tuesday Night Phone Tree Bible Study
(A Bible Study for Women)

*
The Phone Tree Bible Study: JONAH: Navigating a Life Interrupted by Priscilla Shirer
The Phone Tree Bible Study Period: August 31, 2010 – October 12, 2010
The Phone Tree Time: 9:30 PM – 10:00 PM (EST)
The Phone Tree Format: Phone Conferencing, Online Chats, and Prayer Support
Objective of Study: Learn to view your life interruptions as divine opportunities for God to intervene.

Week 1 Focus: Interrupted Lives

A Point from Priscilla: “Interruptions. They come in all sizes and shapes. All colors and shades. Good and bad. Though we wish to avoid them, every season of life seems to include a few – sometimes on either end of the same day. As we are coming up for air from the devastation of one, a fresh and exciting interruption takes our breath away, challenging us with new responsibilities, leaving us feeling inadequate or outmatched.
Through this study, you’ll guide women to see life’s interruptions from God’s point of view instead of their own.”

Navigating (The Lesson Synopsis): In the introduction of JONAH: Navigating a Life Interrupted, Priscilla invites the Bible student to explore the story of Jonah. She welcomes readers to experience a life interrupted through the eyes of this prophet. Finally, she alludes to how a yielded life to God is the best decision of all.

Questions:
1) How would you define a life interrupted?
2) How many times have you asked God what He wants for your life?
3) When God tells you what He wants you to do, what do you tend to do?

Splash Points (Take Away):
* Don’t cling to your plans, rather be accepting of God’s plans for your life.
* Realize that “you can’t escape life’s interruptions.”
* Embrace God’s purposes for your life.
* Yield to God.

Supplemental Devotional Activities
Tuesday Night Phone Tree Bible Study Fall 2010 JONAH intro

LifeWay Resources:
Click on the LifeWay link below in order to see how you can purchase Priscilla’s book. This link also provides information on how you can access a book sample, as well as on how to purchase Priscilla’s downloadable video sessions for this bible study.

JONAH: Navigating a Life Interrupted:

*

7 thoughts on “JONAH: Navigating a Life Interrupted (The Introduction)

    • Thanks for connecting, Cammy. Regarding this particular Bible study series, questions were previously posted. Go to the search box on the right side of this page and plug in the lesson series title. From there, you will be able to see a detailed listing of talking points for each week, as well as questions.
      God bless you as you continue in your pursuit of the Most High God.

  1. Will you be doing another phone conferencing next year? I would love to participate if my schedule allows!

  2. I’m redoing my post as I forgot to respond to all three questions time around.So here goes!

    1. An interrupted life is defined as my surrender of my will to HIS greater will. This means giving and serving with a willing heart and thankful and humble mindset as well.

    GOD does not have to choose me or use me in HIS awesome plans, but instead HE chooses to share a portion with me directly.

    2. I ask GOD in each situation what HE desires of me. I know the over all direction of my life but in order to walk closely with HIM, I must have my ear to HIS very breath on a moment by moment basis.

    3.Each assignment affects me differently so I do not have a set way in which I respond to HIS directives. I am always grateful that HE has found me useful for Kingdom work! Sometimes I am “shaking in my boots” and HE has to take over completely but at other times I am at “sweet peace” and totally in agreement with HIS dynamic plans. Either way, HE is GOD and in control!

    Jennifer

  3. An interrupted life is defined as my surrender of my will to HIS greater will. This means giving and serving with a willing heart and thankful and humble mindset as well.

    GOD does not have to choose me or use me in HIS awesome plans, but instead HE chooses to share a portion with me directly.

  4. 1. I would define an interrupted life as one that takes you on a different course. When you have a direction you’re going and a plan that you’re following and suddenly look around and say, “Wait a minute. This is not what I planned.”

    2. I don’t know how many times I’ve asked Got what he wants for my life, but I do know that I don’t do it enough. I am learning to take even the little decisions to him. It’s so easy to make decisions spur of the moment without considering what God would have for you to do. I’m still a work in progress in this area.

    3. When God tells me what he wants me to do, I usually spend some time talking to him about it. There are times when he’ll tell me to do something immediately. I usually just do it. If it’s something that is major or more of a risk, I will spend several days thinking about it and praying about it. I usually ask God for confirmation before acting.

  5. 1) I would define a life interrupted as a life that isn’t going according to plan (my plans that is).
    2) I have often asked God what He wants for my life. The trouble comes when I don’t adhere to what He indicates or when I don’t pay attention to what He reveals.
    3) When God tells me what He wants me to do, I would love to say I consistently say, “Yes Lord!!!,” but the truth of the matter is that I say things like,”why,” “are you sure,” and “how long do I have to wait.”

Care to Connect?

