Ancient Paths and New Beginnings…

~

These past few weeks, as I have studied the books of 1 and 2 Chronicles, I have been blessed beyond measure. I have gained such a wealth of knowledge, and still, I am learning. God has given me innumerable treasures from His Word that have been both invaluable and profitable for living in the day-to-day. One of the greatest nuggets of truth I have received has been His lesson on ancient paths and new beginnings.

Ancient paths and new beginnings are all about returning to the LORD’s presence and about living according to His Word. Don’t you love it? Don’t you want that? I know I do.

This lesson of ancient paths and new beginnings became all the more clearer to me as I read and unearthed the very real truths in 2 Chronicles 29. I asked myself what these verses of old could teach me in my present life. The Holy Spirit did not disappoint when it came time for the answer.

Walk a moment with me and discover what I learned. Travel down the ancient paths of scripture and step into your very own new beginning.

~

Open the doors of the temple and repair them.
As I read this scripture, the Holy Spirit brought to mind 1 Corinthians 6:19-20. I reflected deeply on this. My body, the spiritual house of the Spirit of God. I asked myself what that really meant. In response, it was as if God was telling me to open the doors of my spiritual house and repair them. Mind you, I had been praying to God for a spiritual revival and a personal shakeup during this time in my life. This was my epiphany. It was His divine response.

Consecrate yourselves now and consecrate the temple of the LORD… Remove all defilement from the sanctuary.
Consecrate yourself. Remove all defilement. Pretty straight forward and definitely to the point. It was here that I began to know, without a doubt, that God was speaking to me. And I was listening. It was as if I could hear Him speaking right into my ear. He was saying sanctify yourself. Dedicate yourself to me. Give your life to Me. 1 Peter 1:16 reinforced this. God wanted me to rid myself of the unholy things inside of me and to allow the dwelling place of His Spirit to be holy.

Remember the covenant.
At this point, God had my full attention. His voice was strong and clear. I realized that somehow, someway, I had forgotten my sacred agreement with Him. Truly, this one stumped me. Why? Because I thought I was focused. I thought I was working. I thought I was doing everything “right.” But the Holy Spirit made me realize that I had forgotten to remember. I had forgotten my covenant – my promise to Him – to remain faithful. With all the things going on in my life – my job, my relationships, my routines – I had placed Him somewhere in the fray. The Spirit wanted me to remember and to not give way to negligence where God was concerned. I was challenged to boldly stand before God with a servant’s heart, ready to minister before Him and to worship Him. I was being called to give Him my absolute worship.

Follow the Word of the LORD
I loved this particular gem. It was so vast, and it held everything that I base my life in Christ on. Here, at this lesson, my mind was flooded with scriptures. John 1:1-5, 9-14. 1 John 1:1-4. Luke 14:27. These were my POWER verses. But the clincher was Matthew 11, specifically verses 27-29

Go in and bring out.
Uh oh. God scored a direct hit with this one. When this message came, it came right at the core of my heart. The person who loves self-examination was being called to go in and to bring out. Uh…but LORD…I already do that. Don’t I? Apparently not. God wanted me to go inside of myself and to bring out EVERYTHING unclean. Forget spring cleaning, it was time for a hardcore cleansing of the Living Water variety. Kind of made me think about that song, Are You Washed. The Holy Spirit showed me that all of this was for my good. I was being prepared. I was being consecrated.

Sacrifice and sing.
Yes, LORD, I will. These were the words I joyfully gave in response to my Beloved’s directive. I would willingly and lovingly commit to sacrificing myself to Him. I would sing, giving Him all of my praise. I would bow to Him and worship Him. With a glad heart, I would dedicate my life and all that He had, has, and would give me back to Him. As you can imagine, at this point in my teaching from the Spirit, I was crying. Even as I sit here typing this message, I remember so vividly how the Word impacted me, and I am still moved to tears. I’m sure you understand. My ancient path led me straight to Psalm 34.

Be more conscientious.
By the end of chapter 29, I had learned so much. The funny thing was, it was just the beginning. Another life genesis for me. A new Genesis Moment. But as I ventured down this particular ancient path, I heard the voice of the Holy Spirit within me, urging me to remember and to be mindful of setting myself apart. I was instructed to offer myself freely to the LORD and to serve Him with gladness of heart, pure joy, and a holy reverence, with sincere humility and lowliness.

~

As you travel down your ancient paths, you should look for the treasured lessons that have been prepared just for you. God is calling you to return to Him and to come before His presence. Follow after His Word and live a holy and sanctified existence for the glory and to the glory of God.

~

Challenge:
ASK YOURSELF…

1) Is it possible to marry the past and the present, and is it for your good if you try to do so?
2) What can I learn from the ancient paths?
3) How can I apply lessons from the past to my present day reality?

One thought on “Ancient Paths and New Beginnings…

  1. Pingback: How Jesus, Jazzercise, and Juicing Changed My Life (Temple Building 3.0) | The Phone Tree Bible Study Group

Care to Connect?

