150 Miles To Go…and Counting

(A Walk Through the Psalms)

Kim’s Personal Journal Entry: Mile Marker 1

3/3/11

I begin my 150 Mile journey today with a sense of excitement and wonder. And if I am being completely honest with myself, I confess, I have a hint of trepidation. Not trepidation in a bad way, if there is such a thing, but rather in a good way. Good meaning anxious. I am anxious to get started. The known unknown. Or maybe a better way to say it is the unknown known. Either way you look at it, it is a thrill to me.

I think the thing that shakes me a bit about this particular journey is the fact that I am committing myself to an intense and very personal pilgrimage, and I am sharing it with anyone interested in traveling along with me. That’s a big deal for me, as I am generally a pretty private person in many respects.

This pilgrimage is so special to me because it is a rite of passage. A rite of passage that is long overdue. It is my very own vision quest, if you will. I can remember years ago when the Spirit first encouraged me to set out on a course through the book of the Psalms. I did, but it was a quick, get-to-the-end “me-version.” I cut my trip time and my adventure time with the psalms and I did it just so I could say I did it. But what I’ve come to learn is that I cheated myself. I cheapened a gift that God had meant for my good by failing to appreciate the entire journey He had laid out for me. Talk about a short trip and a lost experience. Make that lost experiences. I always regretted my decision. It shamed me to think that I had disappointed God in some way.

Thankfully, God was patient with me. He covered me, and He still covers me. He covers me with His grace.

As I prepare to embark on my journey through the book of the Psalms, I am both mindful and appreciative of the gift of time that the LORD God has granted me. I am also humbled by the fact that He has gifted me with another pilgrimage opportunity.

And so, I stand here now, at the beginning, on the outskirts of my destiny, and I am sure – confidently so – that this adventure will change my life in a fantastical way. I feel as giddy as a schoolgirl. Praise God!

150 Miles starts now. I am in search of a deeper understanding of praise, worship, and faith and of my God.

Here I go.

Kim’s Life Lesson:
The journey that God has prepared for me must be traveled with a fearless heart and a bold confidence. I must never forget that He travels with me and that He surrounds me with His grace.

Care to Connect?

