A Bit of SSMT Inspiration…Called to Serve, Share and Heal

“THE SPIRIT of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed and qualified me to preach the Gospel of good tidings to the meek, the poor, and afflicted; He has sent me to bind up and heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the [physical and spiritual] captives and the opening of the prison and of the eyes to those who are bound…”Isaiah 61:1 (AB), The Phone Tree’s Official SSMT Verse (#10)

“Heal the world. Make it a better place for you and for me and the entire human race.”M. Jackson

Recently, I have been dealing with a health crisis. Nothing too serious and yet it is serious enough that it got my attention. As I have dealt with this period of crisis, I have sought to find comfort and relief in the Word of God, and I have prayed to the LORD, asking for His complete healing.

During this time, I have come to reflect on and better appreciate what God’s healing is all about and what it truly means. I have also been moved to look beyond myself to those around me who are in need of a divine healing.

I asked myself what can I do, how can I heal. And you know what the LORD revealed to me; He said (through His Spirit and Word, of course), you can serve and share and allow Me to do the healing. Then, I was led to Isaiah 61.

Beautiful, right? Even more than that, it is so simple.

That message – His perfect words to me – points to His glory and to His I AM-ness. The LORD – He Himself – He, is the Healer. In every sense of the word, He is the One who brings wellness and provides wholeness. He is the Anointed One who gives good tidings, who binds up the wounds and the brokenness of men and women, who heals those who are diseased and dis-eased, and who grants liberty and freedom to those who are bound against their will or who may be imprisoned, trapped in prisons of their own making. He is the LORD God Almighty.

Allow me take you a step further though.

After God revealed His perfect message to me, He did not stop there. He went on and reinforced His message. How? Take a look at Life Today. Refer to the link below and you will see what I saw and hear what I heard. (Make sure to watch the entire broadcast.)

Life Today/Wednesdays with Beth: Wholeness-healing-in-the-kingdom

The mission efforts of Life Today are vast. Their outreach stretches beyond the borders of the familiar and goes far out into the world. They take with them a sincere love for the work of God, and they encompass the message of serving, sharing and healing. Learn more about Mission Feeding at Lifetoday.org/outreaches/mission-feeding/

Reminder: SSMT Update on 5/15/11

One thought on “A Bit of SSMT Inspiration…Called to Serve, Share and Heal

  1. Pingback: Christian Church in Old Ford « Small Town World

Care to Connect?

