The Pursuit of Him

“It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God. Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth. That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship.”John 4:23 (MSG)

The pursuit of the Almighty is a wonderful thing. The ultimate. Truly. There is nothing like it. It’s invigorating, life-altering, cataclysmic and then some.

Over the last few weeks, as I have pursued God and made my way closer to His heart, I have been sandblasted in ways I cannot even begin to explain. I have been exposed to the elements. The elements of my life and the elements of my heart. I have been pummeled with debris. Ruined, in terms of self. Essentially, I have been confronted with my own demise.

During my personal attempts to run after the Most High, I have been met by the winds of change. At first, I buckled, faltering a bit. I lost my rhythm. I compromised my stride, all for the sake of finding my balance. Soon, however, I came to realize that this uncomfortable place where I was rocked off balance, this place that hit me hard, jetting me with a violent and yet miraculous force-pressure, was for my good.

I came to understand that the pursuit of God is a challenge meant to focus my life and heart on worshipping Him. It is about breaking me down to the point of raw humility. It is about face down, out of breath, naked reverence. I also came to appreciate that in those unexpected moments where sandblasting happens, I am being made clean. I am being purified. Being cut and fashioned. Ground up until nothing of myself remains. I am being brought to a place where only God reigns and offers wholeness. The place of holiness.

In pursuing God, I will gladly die to myself. In whatever way the LORD deems fitting, I am willing. This I know, I will not stop running after Him. Neither will I stop praising Him.

My Prayer: Father, there is no one like You. You are LORD. You have a way of getting my attention and for that I am grateful. I see You chasing me, even as I chase You. Praise You. I ask that You continue to remove the debris, the dark particles, and any unholy elements from my life and heart. Cleanse me and make me fully Yours. I adore You. In the name of Jesus. Amen.

Question4U: What have you learned about yourself and/or come to appreciate about God as you have been in hot pursuit of Him?

4 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Him

  1. This is well said. I like to think of our lives as billboards for Christ. It is about surrendering our lives totally and completely to Him so He may get the glory. When you look at it is a woderful experience that requires us to stetch and to come out of our comfort zones.

  2. Being quiet is definitely the best way to really hear what God intends just for you. Me too, for that matter. 🙂 Don’t even get me started on patience. Needless to say, I totally agree with you.

    Thanks for connecting.

    • Yes, being still and guiet! The question for me is how do I teach myself how to be still when the “world” is moving around me. I am entering a place where I know that being quiet and listening for His voice is crucial for my survival! Being quiet is a breathe taking experience!

Care to Connect?

