Milk, Mess or Meat?

A Simple Life Post on Spiritual Maturity with Integrity

“So be done with every trace of wickedness (depravity, malignity) and all deceit and insincerity (pretense, hypocrisy) and grudges (envy, jealousy) and slander and evil speaking of every kind. Like newborn babies you should crave (thirst for, earnestly desire) the pure (unadulterated) spiritual milk, that by it you may be nurtured and grow unto [completed] salvation, Since you have [already] tasted the goodness and kindness of the Lord.”1 Peter 2:1-3

Sitting in a women’s bible class week after week gives one much food for thought. Not only does it allow a means by which one can become more spiritually enriched alongside other fellow seekers of Truth, but it also provides a means for women to become better acquainted with the mindset and heartset of other believers.

Last night, I was blessed to be able to attend the kickoff of a special bible class series. The lesson topic, My Friendship with God, was aimed at teaching women how a friendship with God could impact the internal and external state of their lives.

What proved interesting about last night’s study was how several women discussed how they chose to deal with a person who has shown herself unfriendly toward them. There were answers from, “I would check her” to “I would speak the truth in love.” There was a colorful spectrum of responses. Some were Scripturally grounded and others not so much. As a result, I was stunned, to say the least.

When I got home and closed myself off for my daily reflection conversation with God, I could not help but cry out about what I’d heard. I talked to God and prayed to Him about the hearts of us all. I called out for true heart transformation in the lives of His Christian daughters.

How could we all be in such vastly different places in our understanding of love and friendship and dealing with one who shows herself unfriendly? How could so many be accepting of a “getting-her-told” reaction? Surely, that reactionary response is a reflection of the “old man” nature, not the new woman response, or rather the heart response of the woman who lives with spiritual maturity and integrity in Christ.

Everything that has gone through my mind in the last few hours related to last night’s class, my conversation with God, and my personal bible study and meditation today has been centered around the question – milk, mess, or meat.

As women of God, are we desiring the sincere milk of the Word?

Are we more concerned about “messy” things that contribute to an ungodly heart or are we concerned about living a godly life that encourages a “friendly” response and attitude?

Are we growing in the faith, becoming spiritually mature and having godly integrity?

Are we being nourished and nurtured by the Word and growing unto salvation?

Are we desirous of moving toward and eating the meat of the Word?

Challenge: “Check yourself” by examining your heart response, attitude, and ministry mindset toward those who are friends…and those who are enemies. Let your actions be Scripturally sound, Spirit-driven, love inspired and wrapped up in grace.

2 thoughts on “Milk, Mess or Meat?

  1. On time message for me given that recently I was met with some hostility and rejection from a friend based off my obedience to the Lord in sharing with her what He had layed on my heart. My flesh wanted to immediately respond with frustration and anger and the “forget her” mentality but God; faithful as He is, gently reminded me that we are all in need of grace and that love covers a multitude of sins.

    Thank you for the confirmation. Love you.

  2. I have experienced this type of behavior firsthand and actually began to cry while sitting there listening to sisters in Christ go for each others juggulars. Some of those who were more mature could actually find no words to say. Some spoke out angrily against the offenses that were visible. I sat there flabbergasted thinking is this how treat each other?

    I began to look in my own heart and search. It was very sobering!

Care to Connect?

