Stability Before Mobility

A Lesson in Spiritual Mindedness and Scripture Reflection

As a therapist, I learned early on that stability must be present before adequate mobility can occur. In other words, one must have a stable base or core and good strength if there is to be maximum movement or output.

While preparing for a session one day, I began considering the spiritual implications of that principle – stability before mobility. My mind whirled at what the Holy Spirit began to reveal. Lesson after lesson assaulted my heart and mind. I thought deeply about the richness of the principle and how it applied to my spiritual walk and life in Christ.  Everything I needed could be summed up in the principle of stability before mobility.

The lessons that continued to be imparted to me caused me to begin reflecting on the Scriptures.

What did the Bible say about a stable base or a solid core?

What did it say about strength and movement?

What did it say about output or rather fruitfulness?

Scripture Reflections (Abbreviated)

A Stable Base (or A Steady Foundation):

Isaiah 28:16
So this is what the Sovereign LORD says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone,  a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who relies on it  will never be stricken with panic.

Isaiah 33:6
He will be the sure foundation for your times,  a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge;  the fear of the LORD is the key to this treasure.

1 Corinthians 3:11
For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.

 A Solid Core (or A Set Heart):

Psalm 19:8
The precepts of the LORD are right,  giving joy to the heart. The commands of the LORD are radiant,  giving light to the eyes.

Psalm 73:26
My flesh and my heart may fail,  but God is the strength of my heart  and my portion forever.

Proverbs 4:4
Then he taught me, and he said to me,  Take hold of my words with all your heart;  keep my commands, and you will live.

Good Strength (or A Strong Might):

2 Chronicles 6:41
Now arise, LORD God, and come to your resting place,  you and the ark of your might. May your priests, LORD God, be clothed with salvation,  may your faithful people rejoice in your goodness.

Jeremiah 16:21
Therefore I will teach them—  this time I will teach them  my power and might. Then they will know  that my name is the LORD.

Colossians 1:11
being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience,

Movement (or An Active Faith):

Romans 5:1
Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we  have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,

1 Corinthians 16:13
Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong.

Ephesians 3:17
so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love,

Output (or Fruitfulness):

John 15:2
He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.

The Ultimate Lesson:

Jesus Christ is our stability. It is the LORD Himself who sets our hearts.  His strength and might are ours. We must be active and faithful in our love for Him. We must go forward serving to the glory of God, ever realizing that our fruit is His.

(Translation: Stability is founded on the Rock. Mobility is grounded in faith.)

Questions 4U:

Is your spiritual base stable?

– Do you have a scripture you would like to share related to a steady foundation, a set heart, a strong might, an active faith and/or fruitfulness?

Care to Connect?

