Twelve Ordinary Men…PHILIP

HOW the MASTER SHAPED HIS DISCIPLES for GREATNESS and WHAT HE WANTS TO DO with YOU

By John Mac Arthur

*

Philip – THE BEAN COUNTER

*

Focal Scripture: John 6:7

*

The Common:

–          Philip was from Bethsaida.

–          Philip is often paired with Nathanael.

–          Philip is first apostle to whom Jesus actually said, “Follow Me.”

–          Philip found and told Nathanael about, “Him of whom Moses in the law, and also the prophets wrote – Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.”

–          Philip was identified at the feeding of the five thousand.

Scripture References: John 1:44, 45; John 6:5-7

*

The Uncommon:

–          The fifth name on every list of the apostles is Philip’s.

–          Philip is a Greek name meaning “lover of horses.” His Jewish name is not mentioned.

–          All vignettes of Philip appear in the Gospel of John.

–          Certain Greeks who came to worship at the feast went to Philip.

–          Both Philip and Andrew told Jesus about the Gentiles at the feast.

–          It was Philip who said to Jesus, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is sufficient for us.”

Scripture References: John 12:20-21, 22; John 14:8

* 

Growth Points:

–          Denarii: A denarius was one day’s wages for a common laborer.

–          Shaliah: A Jewish legal emissary or agent who performs an act of legal significance for the benefit of the sender, as opposed to him or herself.

–          Why did Jesus single Philip out at the feeding of the five thousand?

–          How did Jesus respond to Philip in John 14:9-11?

*

Life Application Points from The Phone Tree:

–          I recognize that I can make myself available to the Lord for His use.

–          I recognize that each day of my life should be about following after Jesus Christ.

–          I recognize that I must share the Gospel with others.

–          I recognize that I need to be a visionary and that I need to be careful not to limit God.

–          I recognize that I can always go to the Lord, even when I am unsure of something.

–          I recognize that I need to trust God to help me.

Care to Connect?

