Dinner With A Perfect Stranger

A Phone Tree Book Review/ An Anniversary Gift-Away Opportunity

~

Dinner with a Perfect Stranger by David Gregory was a delightfully entertaining read from start to finish. The writer did a magnificent job of drawing the reader in with witty dialogue and interesting perspectives.

Nick Cominsky, the main character, and Jesus, Nick’s dinner companion, offered unique viewpoints from their side of the table.

Particularly, I enjoyed the creative way Mr. Gregory identified and discussed topics, such as false religions, origins of faith, and the colorful habits of church leaders.

This book was a quick read, which I found to be both engaging and funny. It made me stop and consider what my “dinner with a perfect stranger” would look like.

~

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in considering the possibilities.

Phone Tree Rating: 4/5 Stars ****

~

I received this book free from the publisher through the Blogging for Books book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

~

As part of The Phone Tree Bible Study Group’s Anniversary Week Gift-Away, I would like to offer this book as a prize. If you are interested in being considered for a chance to win a copy of Dinner with a Perfect Stranger, simply leave your first name, along with 3 questions you would ask Jesus if you had a chance to have dinner with Him.

A winner will be randomly selected via Random.org. The deadline for entry submission is 11:59 PM on 12/3/11. The winner of this book will be announced by midnight on 12/5/11.

9 thoughts on “Dinner With A Perfect Stranger

  1. I guess my thoughts are not as much as formulating questions, but, an opportunity to do a one-on-one thank you…

    1. Lord, I thank you and my God for being so mindful of the state of man and the depths of your plans for reuniting us spirit-to-spirit.

    2. Lord, I thank you for teaching me TRUE love in the way you lived your life here on earth.

    3. Lord, I thank your for valuing the “core” of me and forgiving my mistakes.

  2. 3 Questions For Jesus

    1. I know we do & say some funny things, so do you laugh at us?
    2. What is my purpose in life? Am I on that track?
    3. Are we as Christians truly worshipping & spreading your Word right? Any misinterpretations?

  3. I would ask my Jesus the following questions:

    1. Lord, am I fulfilling the purpose that you have for me?
    2. Lord, is it meant for me to marry and have children or does your purpose for me require me to remain single?
    3. Lord, other than dying for the sins of the world, what was the most difficult thing for you to do during your time in a human form?

  4. If I had a chance to have dinner with Jesus, I would ask him:
    I. Am I fulfilling the purpose you have designed for me?
    2. How can I become a more godly woman?
    3. Can you help me to be the best wife, mother, and grandmother?

  5. My three questions to Jesus would be:

    1. Did my Daddy accept you during his final breaths?
    2. Why is it so hard at times for me to be the wife and mother You have called me to be?
    3. How do I have a conversation with my Mom and sisters about You without offending/being disowned by them again?

  6. If I had a chance to have dinner with Jesus, I would ask him:

    1. Am I doing what you sent me here to do?
    2. Do you know how much I love you?
    3. How did you stand all the pain, both emotional and physical, that was inflicted upon you on the way to the cross without saying ANYTHING?

  7. My 3 Questions:

    1) What is it specifically that You want me to do to bring You the greatest glory? (My personal and divinely chosen assignment)
    2) What does my heart tell You about what I feel for You?
    3) When Your friends left You/betrayed You, what thoughts ran through Your mind in those key moments?

  8. If I had a chance to have dinner with Jesus, I would ask him:

    1. Why is it that everyone does not have the burning desire to fulfill their life’s destiny/purpose or is that just a way for society to distract us from the real reason why you created us?

    2. Can you please impart in me the wisdom to be a Great mother for my child and a Great wife for my husband?

    3. How pleased are you with me?

Care to Connect?

