One Word, Three Arrows

The new year is well and gloriously underway. A fresh season has begun. Old things have passed on with a happy goodbye. And each new day brings with it unlimited possibilities that are only restricted by one’s lack of vision.

Instead of facing the new year with an extended list of goals and objectives that may likely be unmet about halfway though the year because of a sense of being overwhelmed or burdened, why not focus on one word and three arrows.

One word. A power source for your walk in the faith. A word that encompasses your hopes, dreams, and aspirations for the new year. One word that says it all and that gives you a sense of motivation for all things God.

What would your one word be?

For me, that word would be reach.

Reach: to get to; to succeed in touching or seizing with an outstretched hand; to stretch or extend so as to touch or meet; range of effective action, power, or capacity;  to make contact or communication with.

Reach. One simple word with so much depth. A word that is an incredible source of fuel and focus for me after a year of great growth and grace. A word that reminds me of God’s mighty hand and outstretched arm toward His beloved people (Psalm 136:12; Deuteronomy 5:15; 2 Kings 17:36; Jeremiah 32:17).

Reach, my power word for 2012, which extends in three very specific directions, hence my reference to the three arrows. My three arrows – aims – for 2012, reach(ing) upward, reach(ing) inward, and reach(ing) outward.

Reach(ing) upward…This means going forward faithfully with God in whatever direction He chooses to pull me in/lead me toward. As He reaches for me, I reach for Him. With this arrow, I dedicate myself to fully trusting the LORD and surrendering myself completely to His glorious will.

Reach(ing) inward… This means living the “OK challenge.” This was a lesson from Priscilla Shirer’s book, The Resolution for Women. With this arrow, I dedicate myself to living peaceably with all men. I also intentionally choose to practice the peace I have been promised.

Reach(ing) outward… This means so much, to the point that it’s more vast that my words can express. Even with its vastness, however, it is not impossible for a supernatural God to conquer. With this arrow, I commit to aiming my heart toward grace works and fruitful missions. I commit myself to being God’s servant to all – the poor, the broken-hearted, the downtrodden, the fatherless, the widowed, the needy.

Only God knows how far these arrows will go. All I know is that I am ready to reach with everything I have inside of me. One word, three arrows. All aimed at the heart and glory of God.

Q4U: What is your one word for the year? Do you have three arrows aimed and ready?

 

11 thoughts on “One Word, Three Arrows

  1. Pingback: A Holy Pause « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group Blog

  2. Pingback: A Crazy Kind of Wonderful « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group Blog

  3. Pingback: Standing in Grace, Misfit and All « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group Blog

  4. Pingback: 119 It! « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group

  5. Pingback: Do You Trust Me? « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group

  6. Pingback: The Day After the Next Day « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group

  7. Pingback: Calendar Talk and Lessons on Grace « The Covenant of One

  8. Pingback: Calendar Talk and Lessons on Grace « The Phone Tree Bible Study Group

    • Hi Heather. Thanks for connecting. Can I just say that when I saw your blog and some of the books you listed, I was elated. I can’t wait to review your posts in detail. 🙂 I’m sure I will find some wonderful new treasures. Happy New Year!

Care to Connect?

