More Than Words

 “For the Word that God speaks is alive and full of power [making it active, operative, energizing, and effective]; it is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating to the dividing line of the breath of life (soul) and [the immortal] spirit, and of joints and marrow [of the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and sifting and analyzing and judging the very thoughts and purposes of the heart.”

Hebrews 4:12

When we read the Bible, oftentimes, we read it as if it has no personal ties to us. We review the stories and look into the lives of the men and women who lived before us, but we stand back, somewhat detached. We are disconnected. In essence, it – the Word of God – becomes impersonal and insignificant. It becomes limited. And even though we say our intent is for it to be more than words, it can only be fully alive to those who make it personal.

In truth, most, if not all, of us want the very opposite of what we tend to accept. We want a connection. We want to be a part of that something bigger. To be a part of the One who is biggest.

What would happen if we approached the Word of God personally? What would happen if we reviewed it, looking into the lives of those who existed in centuries past and we connected and made it personal? What if we made it a point to see ourselves in each story, each life, each word and each experience?

In learning to view the Word of God as alive and active or as individual and specific, we can grasp, even more so, what God would have us know. Seeing ourselves in the scheme of God’s big picture can only birth true intimacy and relationship, where Life and words meet and living really begins.

Make It Personal: Read Psalm 56. Comment on what you learned from the verses and on what you uncovered about yourself while completing the activity.

“BE MERCIFUL and gracious to me, O God, for man would trample me or devour me; all the day long the adversary oppresses me. They that lie in wait for me would swallow me up or trample me all day long, for they are many who fight against me, O Most High! What time I am afraid, I will have confidence in and put my trust and reliance in You. By [the help of] God I will praise His word; on God I lean, rely, and confidently put my trust; I will not fear. What can man, who is flesh, do to me? All day long they twist my words and trouble my affairs; all their thoughts are against me for evil and my hurt. They gather themselves together, they hide themselves, they watch my steps, even as they have [expectantly] waited for my life. They think to escape with iniquity, and shall they? In Your indignation bring down the peoples, O God. You number and record my wanderings; put my tears into Your bottle–are they not in Your book? Then shall my enemies turn back in the day that I cry out; this I know, for God is for me. In God, Whose word I praise, in the Lord, Whose word I praise, In God have I put my trust and confident reliance; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me? Your vows are upon me, O God; I will render praise to You and give You thank offerings. For You have delivered my life from death, yes, and my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life and of the living.”

Psalm 56

Care to Connect?

