Written from the Pages of the Heart…Phone Tree Book Reviews

Phone Tree Book Reviews:

 –Living Close to God (When You're Not Good at It): A Spiritual Life That Takes You Deeper  -<br /><br /><br />         By: Gene Edwards</p><br /><br /> <p>

Living Close to God When You’re Not Good At It by Gene Edwards (Author of A Tale of Three Kings)

Realizing the truth of where you stand within your spiritual self is no small matter. Coming to the place where you are willing to admit that you lack true authenticity in your relationship with God is even more profound.  This book was a testament about a man who was willing to be honest with himself regarding his beliefs, his struggles, and his deficiencies associated with God. The book afforded readers with a glimpse into the mind and heart of a “learned” man who had walked with the LORD but who had also come to the point of understanding that there was something more to be experienced when it came to living close to God. The author revealed hard truths, but he also provided functional ideas on how to begin having a more intimate spiritual walk with the LORD.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for unique ways to grow upward toward God.

Phone Tree Rating: 4/5 Stars ****

Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)  -<br /><br /><br />         By: Ken Gire</p><br /><br /> <p>Relentless Pursuit: God’s Love of Outsiders Including the Outsider in All of Us by Ken Gire

(Author of Intimate Moments with the Savior)

Seeking to better understand God’s infinite love and heart for His children, I elected to read this book. The title itself grabbed my attention in such a way that I knew I wanted to know more. I liked how the book provided a working definition of the outsider. I also appreciated how Scripture was weaved into the realness-of-life examples. The author shared his own experiences, personalizing the subject matter even more. Through his words and insight, Mr. Gire was able to uncover the human condition and encourage active involvement of the heart in the give-and-take associated with the Christian walk.

I would definitely recommend this book.

Phone Tree Rating: 4/5 Stars *****

Mondays with My Old Pastor  -<br /><br /><br />         By: Jose Navajo</p><br /><br /> <p>Mondays with My Old Pastor by José Luis Navajo

“…beautiful thoughts and valuable lessons,” these are the words that best sum up this book. From the beginning, I loved how the author candidly spoke about his strange exhaustion, his response to it, and his approach to dealing with it. I could relate to his words so well: “Deep in some uncertain part of my soul persisted…exhaustion that was difficult to explain and hard to endure,” “I had become discouraged…,” “Even my prayer seemed useless to me,”Had I lost my faith?”

Chapter after chapter shed new light on how to find one’s way through shadows and illusions of darkness. The author’s words were purposeful in encouraging consideration of deeper things. Learned principles and spiritual life growth applications were plentiful.

I would highly recommend this book to any and every one. It would be especially beneficial for those who struggle with questions within themselves related to their stance in faith.

Phone Tree Rating: 5/5 Stars *****

Mondays with My Old Pastor was received free from Thomas Nelson  as part of their Booksneeze Blogger Review program. Relentless Pursuit was provided courtesy of Bethany House as part of their Blogger Review program. Living Close to God When You’re Not Good At It was received free from Blogging for Books as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 thoughts on “Written from the Pages of the Heart…Phone Tree Book Reviews

  1. Looks like a have a list of books to read! I am particularly interested in “Living Close to God When You’re Not Good At It” as I spent a good deal of time struggling with my own relationship w/ God. I’m a better woman because of my struggles, but looks like I could definitely learn something from the purity and honesty.

    Thanks for sharing!

Care to Connect?

