Found in Silence

     “We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need silence to be able to touch souls.”
– Mother Teresa

Rio de Janeiro, Corcovado Mountain

I woke up this morning to a silent house. From my window, I could see that the sky was still dark. The only sound I heard in the next moment was my breath. I immediately went into prayer. With a heart of thanksgiving, I expressed my gratitude to God. I praised Him for being present at all times and in all places  throughout my life. I praised Him for surrounding me and lovingly  hemming me in. For keeping watch over me and my beloved family and friends.

I thanked God for waking me up from sleeping thoughts. Sleeping thoughts which had treated Him as common when His glory says He is anything but. Thoughts that believed the day was created for me, when in fact, it was made by the hand of my Creator so that I might behold and exalt Him. Sleeping and drowsy thoughts that had once foolishly entertained the notion that blessings and gifts were “mine,” when, in reality, they never were. 

Surely, it is in the silence that we can begin to hear and appreciate the majesty and the magnificence of the Most Holy.

Question: What have you been able to find in the silence?

Care to Connect?

