First Look Blog Tour| Water Walker by Ted Dekker

Water Walker (The Outlaw Chronicles #2) (Water Walker #1-4)Water Walker (The Outlaw Chronicles #2) by Ted Dekker

About the Book:
“My name is Alice Ringwald, but the man who kidnapped me says that’s a lie.

Thirteen-year old orphan Alice Ringwald has no memory beyond six months ago. The only life she knows is the new one she’s creating one day at a time with the loving couple that recently adopted her and gave her new hope.

That hope, however, is shattered one night when she is abducted by a strange man. In a frantic FBI manhunt, he vanishes.

So begins Water Walker, a modern day parable that examines the staggering power of forgiveness, and reminds us that it’s possible to live free of the hurt that keeps our souls in chains.”

The Review:
Where do I begin?

There is so much I want to say about this book, Water Walker by Ted Dekker. The author’s language and wording, his primary themes, his intermingling of light and dark, the characters and their voices, the bondage and freedom aspects – these things stood out in a very big way. The role of each person in the story and how they played their part in the conclusive end, or rather in a more precise beginning was haunting. I was literally stunned speechless with how it all played out.

This book was no easy read, in my opinion. It was well-paced, of course, but the movement was…complicated. Not complicated in a hard way. No, not at all. I guess I could say that it was like an organized and complex chaos. There were so many messages and lessons weaved into the storyline. Scripture references were constant and served to steer me toward a greater understanding. That helped to open my mind to where Dekker was obviously (and yet not) trying to take me.

I think anytime anyone reads this book they will walk away with something different every time. Perhaps, they will focus on forgiveness, love, grace, or mercy. Maybe they will focus on choices, consequences, spiritual warfare, or new life pursuits. All I know is that they will walk away changed.

Rating: 4.25/5
Recommend: Yes
Tone: Mixed
Cliffhanger: Yes
Stand Alone Read: Yes (Note: Suggest readers consider reading book #1 of The Outlaw Chronicles)
Themes: Love, Forgiveness, Faith
Bookshelf Worthy: Yes

A complimentary copy of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. The words I have expressed are my own. No form of compensation was given to me. I was not required to write a positive review. I have shared my thoughts for your consideration.

Care to Connect?

