The Truth About Your Poison of Choice

POISON

“1.
a substance with an inherent property that tends to destroy life or impair health.
2.
something harmful or pernicious, as to happiness or well-being…” – Dictionary.com

They say confession is good for the soul. I certainly agree with that. So, here it goes…

In the last few days, I have been tempted, enticed and ultimately led down a path directed straight toward a personal poison.

As hard as I tried to turn away from the decadent delight, the more it kept calling out to me. It lured me into its yummy goodness by charming me and by showing me its beauty. One taste and I was a goner.

Even though I knew deep down that there was nothing I would really gain from consuming the poison, I still did it. It was like I could not resist. Like I had no will power.

The first bite I took led me to another, then another, until I had partaken of almost a dozen (gulp) of the cookies that shall not be named.

Yes, I did that. I am guilty! Guilty of giving in to the urge. And with that guilt, I can tell you that I experienced a number of feelings and had a multitude of thoughts. These feelings and thoughts caused me to begin thinking about sin, about our personal poisons of choice, and about how we tend to react or respond to them. I can tell you it certainly gave me a whole new perspective on deliverance.

The Truth About Your Poison of Choice:

1) Looks can be deceiving. Just because your poison looks good or seems good does not mean that it is good.

2) One momentary taste of your pleasure poison can and/or will steer you toward a course for “more.” The hunger will build until the more you seek of it, the more you will realize that you cannot be satisfied.

3) What goes in – to your mind, body, heart, life –  will influence what comes out.

4) Your poison of choice offers only false promises. There is no benefit. There is no positive gain. It cannot and never will lead to health or wellness, healing or wholeness, life or vitality.

5) To truly be freed from your poison of choice, you MUST give it over to God…FOR REAL. Stop trying to think that you can handle exposure to the poison by yourself. And once He shows you the true nature of the poison and how it means you harm, heed His warning.

Now I know that I’ve taken a rather playful approach with a very serious matter, but I want to be clear nonetheless. Personal poisons of choice, whether they be gluttony regarding the consumption of sweet treats, sex outside of marriage, deceptive actions, evil thoughts directed toward someone else, or anything that goes against God, are harmful. They can destroy your life and impair your health, physically, emotionally, mentally, and even spiritually. Beware and be warned!

I can affirm that walking away, turning away, running away or getting away from a poison is hard, but you do not have to do it alone. God can help you. Actually, He already has helped you by way of Jesus Christ. All you have to do is seek Him out. Confess to Him. Tell Him of your poison or poisons. Tell Him about your struggles. Repent. Learn the lesson and move on. And if it comes to severing the tie between yourself and that poison of choice, remember that it can be done, not by your strength (because that will never be enough) but by His (which is always perfectly sufficient and grace-filled).

Scripture Focus: 1 Corinthians 10:13

3 thoughts on “The Truth About Your Poison of Choice

Care to Connect?

