Always on My Mind|A Phone Tree Book Review

Always on My Mind (Christiansen Family #4) by Susan May Warren

About the Book: After a failed dig in Honduras, aspiring archaeologist Casper Christiansen heads home to Minnesota to face his unresolved feelings for Raina Beaumont, the woman of his dreams. But when he arrives unannounced on her doorstep, he receives the shock of a lifetime: Raina is pregnant with someone else’s baby.

Heartbroken, especially when he discovers the identity of the baby’s father, Casper tables his dreams and determines to be dependable for once, helping his older brother, Darek, prepare the family resort for its grand reopening. Casper longs to be the hero of at least one family story, but a never-ending Deep Haven winter and costly repairs threaten their efforts—and the future of the resort.

Worse, one of Casper’s new jobs constantly brings him into contact with Raina, whom he can’t seem to forget. A tentative friendship begins to heal fresh wounds, but can they possibly overcome past mistakes and current choices to discover a future together?

Phone Tree Review: Always on My Mind is another Christiansen family hit! I adored Casper and Raina’s story. As far as I am concerned, Warren can keep writing about this family indefinitely. I am officially hooked.

What I Liked About This Book:
– As with the other Christiansen family novels, this book started with a letter from the matriarch to her child. The letter was intimate and encouraging and so full of love and grace that it made me want to both smile and weep at the same time. For a mother to know her child so well and to speak to his heart so precisely…it was beautiful.
– Each character was flawed and yet there existed a possibility for more in each one of their lives. I couldn’t help but to be hopeful about what was to come.
– Casper was just so darn lovable. What a great guy, with such a good heart. My heart broke for him and for what he had to endure. His strength of character and of heart, it said a lot. I thought he was the perfect light knight.
– Raina was so easy to relate to. Her missteps and struggles were not so uncommon. She dealt with everything from shame and unworthiness to guilt and unforgiveness toward self. Boy, that describes most of us! Warren did a magnificent job of teaching and helping readers to see how God can not only move each one of us past ourselves, but also how He can make us new and give us a newness in very respect.
– Darek, Ivy and Tiger – this family will always have my heart. It was wonderful to see them. Their challenges and hits made this story and their own story even richer than it already was.
– Even though Owen was not in this story, I am still so utterly intrigued by him. I am waiting patiently on his story. I know his transformation will be epic.
– Welcome home, Amelia! I have got to know the details on her story. Roark and Seth…do tell!
– The mystery treasure hunt was a nice touch.
– Baby Layla was a treasure. Aww…

What I Was Not Expecting:
– I was not expecting Raina to walk into an abusive relationship.
– I was not expecting Darek and Tiger to have tension between themselves.
– I was not expecting any reference to Evergreen.
– I was not expecting the Amelia situation.
– I was not expecting two babies.

At the end of the day, I was not sure how Warren would work out the whole Owen-Raina-Casper story, but she did it and she did it well. Bravo!

Rating: 5/5
Recommend: Yes
Audience: All
Status: Christian Romance
Chemistry/Intensity: Yes
Conflict/Drama: Yes
Series: Yes
HEA: Yes
Want More: Absolutely!

A complimentary copy of this title was provided by Tyndale Publishers via the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for an honest review. The words I have expressed are my own. I was not expected to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Care to Connect?

