A Gift Idea to Encourage the Woman in Your Life (A Book Recommendation)

Do you know anyone who is a mother?

Would you like to do something nice for her?

Would you like to encourage her and share a message of hope?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, then allow me to suggest that you get the mother or mothers in your life a copy of Stacey Thacker and Brooke McGlothlin’s new book, Hope for the Weary Mom: Let God Meet You in the Mess.

IMG_0179

About the Book: “Do you ever feel hopeless? Daily pouring yourself out for your family, you’re tired, overwhelmed, and have nothing left to give. Hope for the Weary Mom is an honest look at where you find yourself living. In their new book, bloggers Stacey Thacker and Brooke McGlothlin (creators of the online communities Mothers of Daughters and The MOB Society) lead you to the God who meets you in your mess and show you that you don’t walk through life alone. You will…

– invite God into your mess
– reconnect with His heart for you
– experience the peace and freedom of walking with Him

It’s easy to forget that God knows you by name when you’re numb with the daily grind. Join Stacey and Brooke and begin the journey from weariness to hope.”

A Brief Q & A with the Authors:

You both say that Hope for the Weary Mom is a mirror of your own lives—that you’ve been living the story of hope for several years. Can you tell us a little about the story of Hope? How it came to be?

Brooke – When Stacey wrote her article on being fresh out of amazing, the one that started this whole weary mom movement, something clicked in my heart. I was pregnant with our third child—a child we ended up losing to miscarriage—and was totally and completely overwhelmed with the thought of handling three children. The two we had were using up every bit of me there was, and I honestly wasn’t sure I could handle another. I was, in every way possible, a mess. But coming to the end of myself, admitting my weakness and inability to be the kind of mom I wanted to be alone, opened the door for a miracle from God. I truly believe that the place of our greatest weakness can unleash the power of God’s greatest grace.

It certainly has in my life, and this book is a reflection of that.

Stacey – Hope for the Weary Mom was born out of my own white flag moment where God met me in the most precious way. But, as it turned out he didn’t want to only offer me hope, he wanted to use my story to share hope with other moms who were feeling the same way. I had no idea Brooke or a thousand other moms felt the same way as I did. I imagined myself alone in this weary world. But God knew, and his plan was so much bigger.  I am amazed he uses my broken places for his glory. Since that day, I have wrestled heavy with hope and I can tell you without hesitation hope does not disappoint. Hope lives and breathes and wants to change more than our circumstances. Hope wants to change us. I am changed. I am changing. Hope is doing that every day in my life.

How can weariness be good?

Brooke – My weariness as a mom is literally what has kept me on my knees before Jesus for the last 10 years. I had no idea how sinful I was until I had my boys. They bring out the worst in me. I know that seems a terrible thing to say, but I think if we’re honest, most of us would agree that our children have the ability to pull out all the sin hiding in our hearts. It isn’t a pretty thing, but it’s a good thing. I’m beginning to realize that it’s God’s grace to me to reveal my sin. Because I can’t repent of it, can’t ask Him to change me and heal me of it if I don’t know it’s there.

The good news is that my boys also bring out the best in me, and they’re being used by God to make me into the best me…the version of me God intended when He created me. That’s powerful. That’s hope.

Stacey – I’ve been learning recently that we were made to need Jesus. Our weariness is not a failure. It is a reminder that we don’t function well in our own strength for long. As the old hymn says, “Every hour I need thee. . . ” and true blessing comes when we lean into him in our weakness.

Follow the following links for a quick dose of encouragement…
Dear Weary Mom
Free Sample Chapter
To secure your very own copy.#choosehope

Phone Tree Review: Get this book today! Whether you choose to get it for yourself or for a friend, it will be totally worth it. (4.5/5 Stars ****~)

2 thoughts on “A Gift Idea to Encourage the Woman in Your Life (A Book Recommendation)

Care to Connect?

