Glory Days: Living Your Promised Land Life Now

A Phone Tree Book Review

IMG_0714

Title: Glory Days: Living Your Promised Land Life Now

Author: Max Lucado

About the Book: “Keep walking. This may be the day your Jericho walls come down.

We all face them. Strongholds with a strong hold on our lives. Roadblocks to our joy. Obstacles in our marriages. Fortresses of fear blocking us from peace. How can we bring down these walls that keep us from the future God promises?

Remember the story of Joshua and the battle of Jericho? Those were some formidable foes and big barriers.

Max Lucado says the book of Joshua is in the bible to remind us of one thing: God Fights For Us! We can overcome, because He has already overcome.

We were not made to stand in the shadow of our walls and quake. We were made to stand on top of Jericho’s rubble and conquer. We win, because God’s already won.

Need a new battle plan for life? Keep walking, keep believing. These may be your Glory Days.”

Phone Tree Review: 

What a powerful encouragement this book was to me. I absolutely loved it. It spoke well of God, and it soothed my heart in such a way that I was fortified. Glory Days provided Biblical content, as well as shared relevant messages for present-day living. I most appreciated the approach that the author took with this book. He combined Scriptural truths with stories about ordinary, extraordinary people. That spoke volumes.

As a reader, I was able to enter into the journey of God’s people and experience, in a sense, what they did or rather what they were called to do. In doing this, I was able to walk away from this book with countless nuggets of truth and inspiration. As a student of the Bible, I was able to read the book of Joshua with fresh eyes and with a fresh perspective.

This book contained two very special additions that I appreciated – a study guide and a preview to Lucado’s brand new daily devotional that is due out in December. The study guide was filled with questions and considerations related to the book’s content. It was very thorough and thought provoking. The devotional seemed to be a compilation of some of Lucado’s past works. The way the devotional was formatted was very appealing, and it made me want to read more.

Rating: 4.5/5
Recommend: Yes
Audience: All
Status: G
Category: Christian non-fiction
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Comments: This book would make a wonderful addition to any home or church library. It would be ideal for a book club or as a theme for a focused Bible class study.

Special Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest critique. I was neither compensated for my review, nor was I expected to submit a positive review. The words I have expressed are my own.

I review for BookLook Bloggers

Care to Connect?

