SPOTLIGHT: Mama, I Want To See God by Vanessa Fortenberry

18617729Mama, I Want To See God

About the Book:
Do I look like God? Where can I see Him? Wanting to connect more with God, a child asks his mother these questions and more in this rhyming verse book. In answer, Mother’s tender and patient responses model God’s love. At the story’s end, Mother has answered all of the questions, letting the child have a true connection with God. The purity of children and the spirituality of all cultures radiate in this touching story.

Author Spotlight: Q&A
1. What inspired you to write Mama, I Want To See God?
My grandson, Anthony inspired me to write Mama, I Want to See God. About three years ago, when he was six-years old, he actually said to his mother those exact words. Since birth, Anthony has had a bad case of eczema which is a skin disease. Extra dry skin on his hands, arms, back, and legs, including bleeding ankles and feet due to uncontrollable scratching made walking difficult for him. My daughter-in-law worried somewhat and thought Anthony wanted to die so that he would be relieved of the intense pain and discomfort. I assured her this wasn’t the case, in that children are ​naturally curious about God. The next morning I sat at my computer and wrote this story.​

2.​Why do you believe it’s important for children to read this book?
I believe children should read this book because it will give them a vision of who God is through the blessings and love He bestows upon us. Children around the world wonder about God. It’s difficult for them to understand that God actually exist when they can’t see Him. This book will help children to discover who they are as a person as they learn and connect more with God. Children will draw closer to God as they gain knowledge about Him, which will hopefully allow them to “see” God in themselves. I feel that children reading this book will come to understand that they are unique and special in the eyes of God.

9f5263c2d6ef0ad8956eac_L__V368226516_SX200_

To learn more about Vanessa, visit her website: www.vanessafortenberry.com.

The Phone Tree Review:
The overall theme and message of this book is beautiful. I love the premise. With simplicity of words and colorful illustrations to support her message, Fortenberry communicates a story of purity.

Recommend: Yes
Other: Multi-cultural appeal; Discussion facilitator for families

An e-copy of this title was made available by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “SPOTLIGHT: Mama, I Want To See God by Vanessa Fortenberry

  1. Kim, thanks so much for the review of my book, “Mama, I Want to See God.” I’m so glad you found its message pleasing. My prayer for all children and their caregivers is that they will receive a vision of God through the reading of this story.

    Like

    • I believe this book will make an impact on anyone who reads it. I cannot wait for the study guide. Thanks for sharing this with us all.

      Like

Care to Connect?